Network of connections

I’ve been thinking a wee bit recently about connections – mainly in my work environment. For example, how close are my relationships with certain people? how close should they be?

It is self-evident that I have the closest and strongest relationship with those people that I like, get along with and am naturally comfortable with. This seems perfectly straightforward and reasonable, except that… I’m not paid to build friendships.

Then it occurred to me that my network of connections is also my network of influence – if I don’t connect with people, how can I expect to influence them? And influencing (in its various guises of negotiating, persuading etc.) is one of the behaviours that is important to the success – or otherwise – of my performance at work.

So, what to do about it? I think I’ll explore that one another time!

Leave a Reply

