Blogging mojo: update

A wee while ago I posted a review of Bryan Allain’s book31 days to finding your blogging mojo’.  During October I worked my way through the book (one chapter per day) and, prompted by a comment on my initial post, I thought I’d provide an update.

Overall, I found it to be a useful exercise – looking at my blog in a different way was interesting.  At times, I felt like I hadn’t a clue what I was doing:

  • I couldn’t coherently articulate the purpose of the blog;
  • I’m not clear who the audience is;
  • I’m not too concerned about blog traffic (although I do appreciate the nice folks who pass by occasionally!); etc, etc.
Then it struck me – around about day 10 – that this was my blog, and that the point is to write about things that interest me.  Hopefully, they’ll interest others too.
So the upshot of reading Bryan’s book and reflecting on my blog is that I’m pretty happy with it as it is.
There are two things that I’d like to change:
  1. the consistency of posting – at times it is sparse and erratic;
  2. commenting more on other people’s blogs.
Of course, if the discerning readers of this blog have suggestions for improvements, I’d like to hear them (really, really!)
(Based on my recently documented scoring system, I’d revise my rating to 4-stars for Bryan’s book.  It is very good, I enjoyed it, and I would recommend it – but it’s not a must-have on every bookshelf.) 
2 thoughts on “Blogging mojo: update

  1. I reckon that having your “own” blog gives you the right to write as frequently or as rarely as you want. Likewise, if you don’t care how many people read it, then you don’t need to have it too tightly themed or structured either. It’s not a publication in which you have to write in a house-style to strict word-limits, about restricted subjects; but can roam as widely as the owner wishes… but I think that’s the point of reading blogs rather than formal publications…

Leave a Reply

