Book Review – Up, Down, or Sideways: Mark Sanborn

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book through the Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for an honest review.

This is a short, easy to read book.  It’s full of useful advice, and a degree of practical wisdom. I can readily sign up to the values expressed, and find much that aligns with my own ways of working and outlook on life.

But, somehow, it didn’t satisfy.

For me, the ultimate problem is that it feels like a book written by a speaker (which Mark Sanborn is).  What I mean is that the concepts have been distilled sown to bite-sized chunks.  In itself this isn’t a bad thing, but I’m looking for something a bit more substantial in a book.

As part of the publicity around the books publication, Mark Sanborn has been tweeting many of the ideas from the book, and that probably encapsulates my ambivalence towards it.  As a series of blog entries, this would be good, worthwhile material.

I want to emphasise that there is good stuff in here, and I will draw on it from time to time.  It’s probably best to think of this as a self-help book, rather than a business book.  That might be a mindset that will leave you feeling warmer about the book than I do.

Having said all of that, I will keep reading Mark Sanborn’s books and blogs, and listening to his talks when I can because he is a gifted communicator.

Using my own scoring system:

Pretty useful.  Not setting the heather on fire, but OK.  I won’t go out of my way to recommend it, but I’ll talk about it if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

