Stubborn intransigence – part two

Assistive Listening Systems These systems tran...

Image via Wikipedia

I came across this entry on Scot McKnight’s blog: What would it take for you to change your mind?  Building on my own entry from yesterday, I find the question more than a little uncomfortable.

You see, one of the character traits that I least admire in others is dogmatic certainty – especially when it’s linked (as it often is) with not listening to other perspectives.  And by listening, I mean really listening:

Listening has nothing to do with hearing the words spoken. Listening is understanding why the words were spoken.

Simon Sinek

But if I’m prone to stubborn intransigence myself, am I really any different from the ‘dogmatic certainists’?

Scot McKnight’s question is a good one to keep at the top of our minds this year, and use it to catch ourselves when we enter the zone of intransigence.

Leave a Reply

