Routines, rituals, and coffee

I was mulling over yesterday’s entry about Benjamin Franklin’s daily schedule and it occurs to me that while the schedule brings discipline and order, regularity and routine. But it doesn’t necessarily bring ritual.

The consistency that flows from following a daily pattern is undoubtedly beneficial, along the lines of ‘a place for everything and everything in its place’.  It may even bring a rhythm or a cadence to life.  However, ritual is – for me – something more than habit.

I may have a cup of coffee at (roughly) 10 o’clock every week day.  That’s a routine or even a habit.  But the way that I make the coffee, and savour it, and look out of the window as I drink it – that’s where ritual happens.

For me ritual is more than the when; it’s about the how.

And in the how comes the added value – at least, that’s how I see it.

Leave a Reply

