Don’t panic

Yesterday would have been the 60th birthday of Douglas Adams.  I love the rich irony that Amazon made the Hitchhiker’s Guide “Trilogy of Five” their Kindle daily deal.  The fictional e-book (before we had even dreamt of the term) as an e-book.

I’ve been a fan of the Hitchhiker’s Guide since my senior years at secondary school.  (Aye, I know – that wasn’t yesterday!)  We were introduced to Douglas Adams’ work by a lab technician – affectionately know as The Badger – who was a follower of the radio version.  Shortly after I read all of the books, the BBC produced a wonderful, quirky and timeless TV series, which I know own on DVD.  I wouldn’t describe myself as a Hithchiker’s ‘anorak’, but once a decade or so I read through the books and chuckle along.   I’m planning to keep the Trilogy of Five for the next long trip that I make.

Douglas Adams had a wonderful imagination and way of writing and I still use a number of the phrases – although the source probably doesn’t register with many people.

I suppose the only fitting way to conclude this entry is:

So long, and thanks for all the fish! 

One thought on “Don’t panic

  1. Hahaha I like that point about the fictional e-book being sold as an e-book – very interesting actually in a lot of ways! 😛

    Such a shame he had to pass away so young. But he did leave a powerful legacy of sorts behind, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

