Walk the line

I once heard (or did I read it?) Nancy Ortberg say:

“There’s a fine line between being courageous and being a jerk.”

I’m sure that she’s right.  I’m equally sure that we should be treading that fine line every day, because the alternative is to live a safe, timid life.

I also think that there are many occasions when we only realise where the line is after we’ve crossed it.  (Or is that just me?)  And that’s the point where we need to be really courageous – by admitting our error and rectifying the situation in the most appropriate way (apologising, asking for forgiveness, extracting foot from mouth…)

Leave a Reply

