Of cardinals, crosses and Christian identity

“Britain’s most senior Catholic cleric has called on Christians to wear a cross every day as “a symbol of their beliefs” and to combat the marginalisation of religion in modern society…

I know that many of you do wear such a cross of Christ, not in any ostentatious way, not in a way that might harm you at your work or recreation, but a simple indication that you value the role of Jesus Christ in the history of the world, that you are trying to live by Christ’s standards in your own daily life.”

(Full article here.)

I have no particular view these days about wearing a cross.  I have done so in the past, I don’t intend to do so in the foreseeable future.

But the cardinal’s comments have challenged me – is it obvious (or even remotely plausible) to determine from my actions and demeanour that I follow Jesus?  Does my every day life match up to Jesus’ standards and example?

Easter is a good time to reflect on the centrality of the cross in our lives – as Cardinal O’Brien has reminded me.

The real question is, ‘What will it look like in my life at church this morning, at play this afternoon, at work tomorrow?’

Leave a Reply

