Putting priorities into practice

I’ve written before about the six priorities (borrowed from Michael Hyatt) that I espouse in my life.  But for a wee while now I’ve had nagging doubts about the evidence that I could muster to support any semblance of reality behind the rhetoric.  Actually they weren’t doubts – I was painfully aware of areas that have been neglected for some time.

So, the question naturally arises, ‘What am I going to do about it?’.

My answer – as far as I have one – is to reflect on the reality first of all.  If I can understand what I am prioritising, then maybe I’ll gain some insight about the ‘why’.  Then I can decide how to act, hopefully from a better informed position.

The ‘how’ to reflect popped in to my head as I was jotting some stuff in my journal the other day.  (Sometimes writing can trigger ideas as well as clarifying them.)

I’ve been writing a reflective journal for just over seven years now, and occasionally I’ve written a weekly review on a Sunday.  So my thought is to become more disciplined about writing my weekly review, and to structure it around my stated priorities.  I hope that this will – over a few weeks – give me the insight to my actual priorities.

I’d love to hear if you have any habits or practices for reviewing – weekly or otherwise!

Leave a Reply

