Calendar as mirror

I’ve been doing a bit of reviewing outstanding tasks and commitments over the last two weeks – in an effort to get deeply organised by the end of July.  As I’ve been going about this I’ve noticed three things.

Firstly, there are a lot of monkeys lurking in my in-tray/to do list.  So it’s officially monkey hunting season.

Secondly, I’ve been changing meetings at short notice.  This is out of sync with my values, so I need to get back to honouring commitments.

Thirdly, and most alarming – my diary does not reflect my priorities.  In part this is similar to the first issue above.  I came across this from Tom Peters:

If you say something is a priority, then it must be quantitatively reflected – obviously, dramatically and unequivocally in the way you spend your time.  The calendar never lies… Priorities are expressed in terms of the amount of time you spend on them.

So it looks like August’s productivity clear out will be aligning my diary with my stated priorities!

Leave a Reply

