Breaking the rules

Last week I heard Lalitha Natarajan speaking on Good Morning Scotland’s Thought for the Day.  One of the things that she said was:

We need to break the rules that inhibit good happening.

… which got me thinking:

  • What rules?
  • Where to draw the line?

And my mind moved on to consider:

  • What are the boundaries for civl disobedience?
  • What (if anything) would I go to jail for?  [I didn’t like this question, probably because the answer would not be very edifying in my case.]

Then I caught myself, as I realised that I was projecting the rules that need to be broken on to other people, organisations, governments.

  • But what about the rules that I have some responsibility for?
  • Am I willing to evaluate which of these rules need to be broken?
  • And if I’m prepared for them to be broken, why do I not proactively jettison them?
  • Or is it just easier to live in an abstract world, rather than applying such principles in my own wee world?  After all, Lalitha was talking to lots of listeners, not just me!
One thought on “Breaking the rules

Leave a Reply

