In and out of love with Twitter

Over the past few months I’ve noticed a direct correlation between my activity on Twitter and entries on this blog.  When one goes up, t’other comes down.

Twitter Logo
Twitter Logo (Photo credit: Jon Gosier)

I also get frustrated by the incredible volume of tweets generated by some of the people that I have followed –  and have now unfollowed most of them.  I think that this frustration is rooted in my desire to avoid backlogs, which is not helped by receiving hundreds of updates every day.

However, I do love the way that Twitter forces us to concentrate on the essence of each entry by constraining the number of characters.  This suits my desire for being concise.  (By contrast, some blog entries are far too long ,in my opinion.)

So, I’ve decided that I’m going to focus my energy on this blog.  I will continue to use Twitter, but sparingly.  I’ll use it to promote blog entries, to post some quotations and to point (occasionally) to articles of interest – if they’re not covered here.

How do you use your social media outlets?  Are you a paid up member of the Twitterati?

Leave a Reply

