Ancient and modern – part 1

Following yesterday’s entry about updating institutions, I thought I’d risk entering sacred territory and raise the topic of modernising old hymns.

This year’s ‘new music for Advent’ in our house is Hillsong’s ‘We have a Saviour”.  It’s a collection of (mainly) traditional carols that have been given an update/twist.  I suppose that the feeling is one of modern folk.  Last year I described their new song as  Mumford-esque and I think that fits the bill for this year’s offering as well.  I’ve chosen their version of ‘God rest ye merry gentlemen’ to give you a flavour of what I mean.

I realise that these versions may not appeal to everyone, but I like them. However, I have yet to hear any version of ‘O Holy Night’ (including Hillsong’s) that doesn’t make me cringe!

Leave a Reply

