Bonus extra from Ernesto

As I reflected on yesterday’s entry I realised that there was another important lesson in his talk that I need to learn… and accept.

Planning is the kiss of death of entrepreneurship.

Or, to put it in different terms to fit my setting:

Don’t plan the details.  When people accept a way forward, let them get on with it.  My role is to focus on outcomes, not processes. Of course, that means giving up control over the ‘how’, and that doesn’t always come easily. But if I really want to concentrate on the ‘what’, then this is a key lesson for me to learn.

I need to demonstrate trust, and be there for support and advice when needed. Beyond that my job is largely about getting out of the way!

Maybe Peter Drucker’s observation applies to this thinking:

Ninety percent of what we call ‘management’ consists of making it difficult for people to get things done.

Now the challenge is can I consistently adopt this approach?

Leave a Reply

