More dung …

English: Picture of Dung Beetle Italiano: Imma...
English: Picture of Dung Beetle Italiano: Immagine di uno Scarabeo Stercorario (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The second lesson that I gleaned from Marcus Byrne’s TED talk about dung beetles is related to the homeward path of the pachysoma (details here).

The direct line from dung store to nest reminded me that after looking for opportunity there’s a need for action. The dung beetle pushes its chosen dung ball back to is nest for nourishment.

So it is when seeking information.  The growth aspect will only take effect when there is some chewing, digesting and… actually I don’t want to take that analogy any further!

However, I must admit that one of my weaknesses is to keep seeking more information, snippets, sources rather than getting down to the task of using the best of the stuff that I’ve found.

(The other analogy that springs to mind is my wife shopping for shoes, but if I tell that story I’ll be in trouble.)

One thought on “More dung …

Leave a Reply

