What’s working well?

what matters now

… I’ve had to learn to unplug and recharge. To trade multitasking for uni-tasking and – occasionally – no-tasking. It’s left me healthier, happier, and more able to try to make a difference in the world. My eyes have been opened to the value of regularly closing them.

Arianna Huffington – What Matters Now on ‘Sleep’

Maybe it’s a middle age thing, but as I get older I’ve learned to appreciate the value of a regular sleep pattern. I don’t mean that I need more sleep (or Nana naps!), but I do function best when I have a consistent time to both go to bed, and to get up. I find that too much sleep makes me just as dysfunctional as too little.

In recent years I’ve made looking after myself one of my top priorities and sleep, exercise and rest feature prominently in maintaining my sense of wellbeing.

Anyway, it’s getting late (by my standards) as I write this, so I’m going to start winding down before I get ready for bed. As my father-in-law says, ‘Getting up begins at night’.

Leave a Reply

