Saturday review: The Railway Man

railway manThis is not a film that I would describe as enjoyable. The film is based on the story of Eric Lomax and his struggles after being a prisoner of war who was forced to work on the Burma railway by his Japanese captors. His experience included horrific torture, which is presented graphically and harrowingly – it is not easy to view.

The story is told from the perspective of the post-war Lomax, largely using flashbacks and dialogue involving his wife, Patti.

Lomax’s story is fascinating and I was totally absorbed by the film as I watched it. But, on reflection, I felt that the film hadn’t conveyed much information about what Lomax himself was thinking. I certainly wanted more insight – and I will read his autobiographical book to hopefully get it.

This was a good film, but not a great one. I’d say three stars (according to my system).

Leave a Reply

