Quick blogging

While I’ve been reflecting on my evening routine, I came across an article by Austin Kleon. In it he says:

I recommend that everybody come up with a daily dispatch…What I mean by that is one little bit of media that you push out every day, some little piece of your process that you share with people…

This triggered two thoughts:

Firstly, it doesn’t take long to produce something. Regular readers will know that my blogging efforts have been somewhat sparse in recent months. Well, while I haven’t been blogging, but I’ve been gathering loads of ideas, thoughts, articles etc. So it’s time to start producing regularly, consistently and Austin Kleon has helped me to realise that it really doesn’t take much effort.

Secondly (and indirectly), Kleon says that it only takes 15 to 30 minutes to produce something. I’ve decided to turn that into a constraint – I will blog for no more than 15 minutes every evening (maybe longer at weekends). I aim to produce something every week day, with more random stuff at the weekends – but I will spend less time agonising over producing something beyond criticism. Better to produce something with a few flaws than to sit silently. (If things get too sloppy I will re-think this approach.)

I thought I’d share Austin’s  blacked out poem that features in the article – to read it you’ll need to click on the image to enlarge it.

Kleon - a long way 2

Leave a Reply

