Back to school

This week I have returned to school. No, I haven’t left my job for full-time education. Part of the remit of my (relatively) new role includes quality and performance in schools. I’ve been part of a team visiting secondary schools to review their exam results and discuss their plans for the year ahead.

It’s a whole new world for me, and I have felt like the ‘new boy’ – struggling to make sense of the systems and jargon; lacking the knowledge needed to make any valuable contribution to the conversation. It has been a wee bit uncomfortable.

However, the time hasn’t been wasted. I’ve been following advice from @tompeters:

Meeting in the next hour or so? Take copious notes. Will inspire others, help u learn, + keep u from talking too much

Copious notes have been taken. They will be pored over, analysed and re-doodled until a picture emerges that helps me to understand how all of the moving parts come together to form a system.

Every day is a school day!

And Hugh’s cartoon cheered me up today.

Pencil

(Image by Hugh MacLeod @ gapingvoid.com)

Leave a Reply

