Hootenanny 2015-16

Posting my  personal highlights from Jools Holland’s annual Hootenanny has become a New Year habit, which I intend to maintain. I really enjoyed this year’s show, but I’ve found it difficult to find videos that reflect my preferences. The BBC has posted a few on YouTube, but the only overlap with my choices is James Bay performing Proud Mary:

My personal list would include:

  • Rhiannon Giddens – Waterboy
  • Rhiannon (again) with Tom Jones – St James Infirmary Blues
  • Paul Weller – Start
  • K T Tunstall – Night and Day (the highlight of the show for me).

In the absence of a video for K T Tunstall, my second choice would be Beth Hart and Jeff Beck’s powerful version of Nutbush City Limits. Turn the volume up and enjoy.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

