So many ideas

As I was flicking through my ideabook yesterday, I was struck by the ratio of ideas captured to ideas developed. Basically it’s

oodles: none

The lack of entries in this blog is clear evidence of the ‘none’ side of the equation.

so many ideas

Pay attention to what you’re paying attention to.

Tiffany Shlain

 

So where is my attention?

  • Am I allowing processing, function and transactions to squeeze out creativity?
  • Is throughput and productivity impeding reflection and learning?
  • Is busy-ness replacing impact?

The answer to all of these questions is ‘Yes’.

So what am I going to do about it?

Well, the first step is to implement Tiffany Shlain’s advice; to realise where my focus is and to adjust it accordingly. There are times when throughput and productivity matter, but that should not consume all of my time.

I need to tweak the balance between gathering/generating ideas and developing them. I’d like to aspire to the impact of Seth Godin and the depth of Maria Popova.

But the easiest measure of all is to monitor the frequency of entries here. This will serve as a barometer of my attention.

 

Leave a Reply

