The danger of back-to-back meetings

One of my diary rules is:

My assistant will not accept back-to-back meetings without my specific approval. At least 15 minutes between meetings (preferably a lot more).

Yesterday, I broke this rule by accepting back-to-back meetings. I accepted the second invitation, so it was a self-inflicted problem.

I know this might not seem like a big deal to most people, but it matters to me.

While driving home (when my brain had quietened down) I realised that my notes from the second meeting contained approximately 12 words. I had barely captured anything that was said. The reality is that my mind was still re-running the previous meeting and I wasn’t fully engaged in the second meeting.

Normally I’m very disciplined about controlling my diary; yesterday it controlled me.

It wasn’t a disaster, but it’s not how I intend to carry out my duties.

The challenge is … “Will I learn the lesson?”

Leave a Reply

