Sowing seeds

At the weekend I pruned our raspberries. Despite the weather forecast, that signals the start of the gardening year for me.raspberries after

This quotation seemed to be appropriate:

We cannot sow seeds with clenched fists. To sow we must open our hands.

Adolfo Perez Esquivel

I have a quiet wee ritual that I use when I feel that I’m getting angry or tense. I place my clenched fists on my thighs; slowly spread my fingers until my hands are lying flat, palm down; then I turn my hands over, but only when I’m ready and willing to be open. From experience, this only works when I catch my emotions at an early stage.

This raises a question – what does it mean to live with ‘open hands’?

I suggest the following:

  • Inviting
  • Welcoming
  • Generous
  • Vulnerable
  • Forgiving
  • Free
  • Ready to help.

Feel free to add to the list. And, watch for those moments today when your fists are clenched. Then, slowly open them and feel the difference.

(Full disclosure – the photo is from a few years ago. We haven’t finished weeding and mulching the bed this year!)

 

Leave a Reply

