Productivity: the missing ingredient

I recently stumbled across Chris Bailey’s work on productivity. His model is a mash-up of ideas from lots of people – Tony Schwartz, Dave Allen, Tim Ferris… He has an interesting reading list that’s worth exploring. I’m familiar with some of the recommended books, but not withal of them.

I really like his model for the three components that are required to be productive.

productivityEnergy + time+ attention = productivity

I probably haven’t spent enough time dealing with the attention element. For me, this should add the depth, focus and value that will help me to make a difference. This is a key message from Cal Newport’s Deep Work (much more of that in the near future).

So for me, this has been the missing (or under-valued) element of productivity. I wonder if it’s the same for you?

Leave a Reply

