Why do I write every day?

I’ve been thinking about this question as I’ve been posting more regularly. I scratched the surface with an entry a couple of weeks ago. Now, I’m scratching again.

The funny thing is – I have absolutely no aspirations as a blogger. I don’t make any money from it, nor do I want to. Most entries are read by a handful of people, and I’m happy with that.

So why do I write every day?

Firstly, it’s a way to process some thoughts. To string together a few sentences trying to convey something out of my head and on to your screen. This entry was triggered by the brilliant Hugh MacLeod (who produced the cartoon that I’ve used today).

hello againIt’s also a way for me to practice the habit of writing in a simple manner. I aim to write for a reading age of 12. (If you’re interested, this entry has a reading age of 10.3)

And writing is a way for me to practice some self-discipline. Even when I get home from work and feel a bit tired or jaded, I sit at my keyboard and crank out something.

There’s one other motivation. But I’ll write about that tomorrow.

“90% of success is just showing up”

Woody Allen

One thought on “Why do I write every day?

Leave a Reply

