Reactionary workflow

Scott Belsky talks about entering a period of reactionary workflow, which he describes as:urgent

“Living, essentially, someone else’s to do list.”

I’m sure that this resonates with many people in our (apparently) demanding, on-demand age.

Cilla Snowball describes her day as being governed by a short and realistic to-do list that she is resolutely focused on and grimly determined to get through.

For me, the point of connection here – and the challenge – is to be able to manage my workload. I need to use my energy where it matters most to me/my organisation and to develop the focus and determination described by Ms. Snowball.

I realise that an element of reactionary work is unavoidable. But, the key is to ensure that this does not consume all of my time or my most productive times of the day.

There are a variety of tools and techniques that can be applied to encourage this approach – e.g. Stephen Covey’s urgent/important matrix. However, the key to success in this area is to develop discipline and awareness. And neither of these comes naturally to me.

(Image from pixabay.com)

Leave a Reply

