What is a diary for? The obvious…

Meetings! Many people seem to love filling their diary with back-to-back meetings. That’s entirely up to them… but not for me. (I find back-to-back meetings drain my energy. So, I try to avoid them whenever possible.)

When I put a meeting in my diary I like to allocate two other slots – one to prepare for it, and one to review it. Preparation goes beyond reading the papers.

Preparation goes beyond reading the papers. It helps me to identify where I’m likely to make a contribution; where there might be a need to clarify; where there might be some tension. In summary, I try to anticipate what might emerge during the meeting. Ideally, I’ll prepare the day before the meeting, to allow some time to get more information etc if necessary.

Reviewing is intended to ensure that I capture all actions allocated to me; to communicate key issues to my teams; and to file the papers properly.

Of course, putting these slots in my diary reduces the space for more meetings. Which is practically perfect!

 

Leave a Reply

