What is a diary for? The less obvious…

One way that I use my diary is to ensure that I have time slots each week to allow me to:

  • Think
  • Read
  • Work on tasks/projects.

These slots are booked months ahead. If someone tries to organise a meeting at one of these times, I will happily say,

“I’m not available. I have another commitment.”

This is true – I have a commitment to myself and to make a contribution to my organisation. Of course, there are exceptions – times when I’ll break my commitment. But, wherever possible, I try to re-arrange my week to find an alternative time to do my thinking/reading/work.

Leave a Reply

