Slowing down to the speed of intention

Looking back at the last few weeks, I’ve noticed a pattern in my working life.

I’m most productive and feel most fulfilled when I have a clear plan for each day. I accept that this is not exactly an earth-shattering insight. However, if this is so obvious, why is it not my everyday experience?

sharpen-the-axeThe answer – in part – lies not in the plan itself, but in the commitment to planning.

When I don’t have a clearly defined plan, I allow myself to operate in the ‘reactive zone’. This is really about the agenda of other people. Yes, I can occupy myself, feel that I am helping others; but I’m not progressing the things that are important to me.

So I’m learning to be more intentional in my planning. This requires me to slow down and evaluate the relative merits of all the things that compete for my attention. This is also known as prioritising!

Prioritising takes time, it takes focus. It is a job in itself.

But when did you last book a meeting with yourself to prioritise? Maybe, today would be a good time to start.

Leave a Reply

